Introduction to The Ties that Bind

I am planning on writing a series of devotions on core foundational beliefs of the Christian Faith.

There is so much divergent thought about Christianity, even among folks who self-identify as believers, that I thought it would be worthwhile to discuss the ties that bind us all together. The proliferation of flavors of Christian belief can cause us to see the differences and divisions, rather than the unity of the Bride of Christ.

Recently I received a note from Dr. Mark Bailey from Dallas Theological Seminary (DTS):
“It’s clear to me that Christians must stand together around essential beliefs. All DTS faculty and students stand on the seven core doctrines of evangelical faith listed below.
1. the Trinity
2. the full deity and humanity of Christ
3. the spiritual lostness of the human race
4. the substitutionary atonement and bodily resurrection of Christ
5. salvation by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone
6. the physical return of Christ
7. the authority and inerrancy of Scripture

Do you stand with us? ”

I respect Dallas Theological Seminary. I have taken and enjoyed several free online courses from their faculty. The senior pastor of my church graduated from DTS. I think it is worthwhile to take some time to think deeply about and discuss these core 7 beliefs that have united Christians throughout the ages, and still unite Christians of every language, tribe, race and nation today.

Each Tuesday over the next 7 weeks I plan to post a devotion on each of these 7 topics.

Leave a comment