Excerpts from My 2020 Corona Graduation Commencement Address

Numerous 2020 graduates have had to forego the ordinary pomp and circumstance of elaborate graduation celebrations.  Many parents, like myself, have had to step up to the plate and find creative ways to mark these very special milestones.  To that end, I prepared a commencement address for my daughter Maria, who graduated from Grove City College, and her best friend Katrin, who graduated from Messiah College.  Here are excerpts from my message to them that I would like to share with all the 2020 graduates:

Heartfelt congratulations…

Graduating is a huge accomplishment.  We are so proud of you. 

Congratulations Class of 2020!

You deserve to hear it, even if you are alone, or if only a few of you can gather together!!!

I had a lot of fun seeking after God and collecting some thought provoking quotes for our Corona Commencement today.  Perhaps the best one to start with was given by Steven Chu the 1997 Nobel Prize recipient when he was invited to be a commencement speaker: Steven said, “Normally, commencement speakers are like corpses at an Irish wake — we’re needed for the ceremony, but no one expects us to say much.”

I say that with some sincerity, because I have been to quite a few commencement messages, and sadly remember very little.  In fact, I am a little ashamed to say that I can’t even tell you who my college commencement speaker was. 

So rather than just telling you some dry platitudes you won’t remember, I thought I would latch on to four important themes and try to illustrate them from some interesting stories from my life, when I was your age.  As a tribute to Ravi Zacharias I am going to start with his words:

Education must become a lifelong personal pursuit: 

  • “Go beyond your education seeking God for wisdom.” – Ravi Zacharias

Friends are very important:

  • “God’s method has generally been a person – who knows where God is going and leads many along.” – Ravi Zacharias

Striving to find your purpose creates restlessness, seeking God’s heart gives peace:

  • “When you find your definitions in God you find the very purpose for which you were created.  You have made us for yourself and our hearts are restless until we find our rest in Him.”  – Ravi Zacharias

Be adventurous:

  • “Go out into the darkness and put your hand into the hand of God.” – Ravi Zacharias

After I finished college my friends and I embarked on an adventure.  Nine of us each chose places in the US that we wanted to see.  Then we drew a line between them and planned an epic three week trip across the country.  We pooled our resources, and bought a half bus from a mental institution at an auction.  A very kind man took a risk on us and was willing to insure 9 college kids so we could legally take our half bus across country. 

  • Dream big, involve other people and make memories. Together you can achieve more than you can alone.  Have faith in people.  Don’t say no reflexively.  Whenever you can, say yes to other people’s dreams, particularly when raising children. 

Early in the trip, on the way from Virginia to Florida our carefully planned sleeping arrangements failed.  The hammocks we strung up fell during the night.  Bruce landed on Paul… and didn’t wake up.  Paul in his frustration stuffed Bruce under his seat.   

  • Be flexible.  The best laid plans will fail.  Try not to stuff your friends into the wheel wells when things go bad. 

As a result Brian and JB reluctantly climbed up on top of the mountain of luggage in the back of the bus to sleep.  For the rest of the trip they took turns sleeping up there, when they weren’t driving.  Years later they confessed that it was the most comfortable spot of all.

  • Appearances can deceive.  Sometimes what you and others think is a hardship is really a blessing in disguise.

Our first stop was in Disney world.  I remember very little about it other than trying to figure out how to get clean in a restroom which had no showers. However, I do remember the next day when we were playing in the waves at night on the gulf coast.  The water was so warm and the stars were beautiful.  And then we found a panhandle bar and four of us had Oyster shooters. 

Slimy, spicy, but satisfying.

  • Some things are expensive and don’t live up to their billing, some things are cheap and are much better than they sound. 

A short drive to Mississippi and we toured the Vicksburg Battlefield.  Paul and Rob were Civil War buffs and so excited.

  • Some things excite other people, but not you, because you are ignorant.  It is better to own it. Oh, and learning new stuff is definitely not fun when you are in the sun without suntan lotion.

The next stop was watching my good friend get drunk in a blues bar in New Orleans while he was trying to learn the life story of a stripper.  That was something he really wanted to do.  So I was there with him.  Honestly, it was pretty strange.  Let me tell you what I learned.

  • When you take the time to listen to people rather than objectify them, you will find that they have worthwhile stories.  The stripper was not an addict, nor a prostitute, she was dancing to put her daughter through college. 

After three long days driving across the southwest, watching prairie dogs and narrowly avoiding death in a ravine in Texas, three of us foolishly ignored the signs and decided to hike all the way to the Colorado River and back in one day from the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. 

The Grand Canyon at first seemed easy.  The first three miles cruised by, all downhill.  By the third mile we started to get worried, and even discussed turning back, but we decided we had to keep going to refill our canteens in the Colorado river.  When we reached the river at the bottom we immediately set out to return.  It was grueling and hot.  Paul and JB are both big guys, with lots of reserves.  I had done Karate and was in the best shape of my life.  About halfway up we stopped and finished our snacks.  We trudged on.  Each time we thought we reached the rim there was another set of endless switchbacks going up.   By the end we were lying down on the trail in mule excrement, our food reserves gone, or glucose reserves gone, I honestly think I was burning brain cells.  When we finally crested the rim the bus was late to pick us up.   The sun set and it got cold.  The desert is very cold at night.  There was no one there.  At all.  So the three of us ended up huddled in a Don’s John for warmth.  Then someone knocked on the door.  I kid you not.  There was no one in sight when we got in, yet someone knocked on the door.  So Paul said, “Accupado”, which got us snickering.  Can you imagine the frustration and confusion of that person?  I still laugh thinking about what it would have been like to walked up to a Don’s John in a deserted place and find that it had multiple people in it snickering.

  • When you do stupid stuff, do it with friends.  The memories will last a lifetime.  Oh and your life is in the hands of your friends.  Pick them wisely.

When the bus finally did show up, we were starving.  My head was literally pounding.  I was shivering.  As we stepped on the bus I remember watching Paul grab a sandwich and stuff it in his mouth before it’s owner could even voice an objection.  Dave gave me a tuna fish sandwich, which up to that point in my life I hated with a passion.  That was the best tuna fish sandwich ever. 

  • Food likes and dislikes are a luxury.  When you are starving you learn that you can be really grateful for your least favorite food.

The next stop was Las Vegas where I remember one of the best showers in my life at a hotel.  After going 5 days without a shower including up and down the Grand Canyon and having 9 guys shower the bath tub was left with archeological layers of sediment.

  • Be thankful for showers.  Life really is better when you are clean and get a full night’s sleep.

Then I hit one of my choices.  I bought a gold pan and panned for gold in an ice cold stream in the Rockies.  That was super fun, mostly because JB was kind enough to carry me and place me gingerly in the steam so I could avoid getting my shoes wet (the baggies worked!!). 

  • Mountain rivers are really cold.  Good friends are worth more than gold.  I mean, I presume, I didn’t find any to test the theory.

At four corners, Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, and Utah meet at one spot.  We had the very cool experience of passing juggling pins across 4 state lines.  But what I remember most is at a convenience store.  I remember walking the aisles in despair trying to find something to eat when nothing looked good.  I finally settled on an old burrito which I regretted. 

  • Eating bad food, makes you feel yucky.

In the Grand Tetons we broke all the rules, and hiked up a mountain above the tree line into the snow.  I remember looking out at two of my friends who were on a vast snow and ice sheet perched over nothing.  I mean they did not realize that they had walked out onto an undercut area with nothing below them except a 1000 ft fall.  We screamed for them to come back and none of us died that day.

  • Your life is in the hands of your friends.  Pick them wisely.  Be thankful for the grace of God, you don’t realize how often he has saved your life.

On the way down the mountain one person, Bruce, slid down on his butt slowly, going first making a trail and the rest of us followed sledding on our sweat pants.  It was super fun and surprisingly fast, like real sledding.  However Bruce had accidently taken a path that ran into a rock.  He was going relatively slowly, so it hurt him a little.  He moved over and continued down the mountain.  The rest of us were in for the painful surprise of our lives as we hit that rock at high speeds right where it hurts.  Paul swore with such vehemence that I thought he was going to kill Bruce at the bottom.  Fortunately the snow numbed us all.

  • People are following in your path, be careful to note where you are leading them. 

Our bus broke down, again, in a small town in Washington state near Mount St. Helens.  Our bus did its best imitation of the mountain billowing steam and smoke.  Things looked bleak.  Then a random passer by stopped to help.  He was a mechanic who took pity on us.  He walked onto our bus opened up the engine and proceeded to fix the bus engine by resetting the timing belt manually.  At the time, I was not a believer, but we all described him as a level 13 lawful good paladin mechanic because it was like he literally laid hands on the engine and healed it.

  • Do good to others even when you get nothing in return.  And God is watching over you, even when you are broken down in the middle of nowhere.  He knows where you are.

At that time I didn’t know Jesus yet. Your adventures will be grander than mine because you know Jesus. Here is my advice for you from God’s Word:

Be ready to see the miraculous.

  • John 14:12 Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.
  • Luke 17:6 He replied, “If you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mulberry tree, ‘Be uprooted and planted in the sea,’ and it will obey you.
  • Luke 10:19 I have given you authority to trample on snakes and scorpions and to overcome all the power of the enemy; nothing will harm you.

Never Forget to give thanks to God.

  • 1 Thes 5:18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.
  • Colossians 3:16 Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts.
  • Psalm 69:30 I will praise God’s name in song and glorify him with thanksgiving.

Prepare for rain, sow the fields.

  • James 5:7 Be patient, then, brothers and sisters, until the Lord’s coming. See how the farmer waits for the land to yield its valuable crop, patiently waiting for the autumn and spring rains. 8 You too, be patient and stand firm, because the Lord’s coming is near.
  • 2 Cor 9:6 Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously. 
  • 2 Cor 9:1-110 Now he who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will also supply and increase your store of seed and will enlarge the harvest of your righteousness. 11 You will be enriched in every way so that you can be generous on every occasion, and through us your generosity will result in thanksgiving to God.

Be open to love; let your heart change.

  • 1 Peter 1:22 Now that you have purified yourselves by obeying the truth so that you have sincere love for each other, love one another deeply, from the heart.
  • James 4:7 Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.

Always remember to pray first.

  • 1 Timothy 2:1 I urge, then, first of all, that petitions, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for all people—
  • Col 1:9b-10b We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives, so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way
  • 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18  Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

Don’t allow yourself to believe lies.

  • Galatians 2:4 This matter arose because some false believers had infiltrated our ranks to spy on the freedom we have in Christ Jesus and to make us slaves.
  • 2 Corinthians 11:13 For such people are false apostles, deceitful workers, masquerading as apostles of Christ.
  • John 17:17 Sanctify them by the truth; your word is truth.
  • Revelation 22:15 Outside are the dogs, those who practice magic arts, the sexually immoral, the murderers, the idolaters and everyone who loves and practices falsehood.

Focus on discerning God’s voice.

  • Psalm 81:11 But my people would not listen to me; Israel would not submit to me.
  • Proverbs 1:33 whoever listens to me will live in safety and be at ease, without fear of harm.
  • Isaiah 50:4 The Sovereign Lord has given me a well-instructed tongue, to know the word that sustains the weary. He wakens me morning by morning, wakens my ear to listen like one being instructed.
  • John 10:27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.
  • James 1:22 Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.

Don’t be afraid to ask questions, you don’t have to have all the answers.

  • Phil 2:3-4 Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.
  • 1 Cor 8:1b knowledge puffs up while love builds up
  • Proverbs 9:8 Do not rebuke mockers or they will hate you; rebuke the wise and they will love you.
  • Proverbs 13:10 Where there is strife, there is pride, but wisdom is found in those who take advice.

Always keep it real.

  • Romans 12:3 For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you.
  • Luke 12:1b Be on your guard against the yeast of the Pharisees, which is hypocrisy.
  • Galatians 2:13 The other Jews joined him [Peter] in his hypocrisy, so that by their hypocrisy even Barnabas was led astray.
  • James 2:18 But someone will say, “You have faith; I have deeds.” Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by my deeds.
  • Isaiah 58:6-7 “Is not this the kind of fasting I have chosen:  to loose the chains of injustice and untie the cords of the yoke, to set the oppressed free and break every yoke?  Is it not to share your food with the hungry and to provide the poor wanderer with shelter— when you see the naked, to clothe them, and not to turn away from your own flesh and blood?”

Always think and dwell upon the good.

  • Romans 8:28 And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.
  • Romans 12:2 Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.
  • Romans 13:14 Rather, clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ, and do not think about how to gratify the desires of the flesh.
  • Philippians 4:8 Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.
  • 2 Corinthians 3:18 And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.

My last piece of advice is… trust God, be wise, work hard, be humble.

  • Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.
  • 1 Chron 5:20b He answered their prayers, because they trusted in him.
  • Psalm 4:5 Offer the sacrifices of the righteous and trust in the Lord.
  • Psalm 33:21 In him our hearts rejoice, for we trust in his holy name.
  • John 8:26b “…he who sent me is trustworthy, and what I have heard from him I tell the world.”

Congratulations again, Class of 2020.

Oh, in case you started keeping score, like my son did, he counted 29 platitudes!

Leave a comment