Blessings for Rain: Learning to Pray from Jewish Book of Legends

At some point it is inevitable that our faith begins to feel like an endless list of things we do, which if we are not careful, can ultimately distract us from God. When did the abundant life turn into the hectic, busy life?  As a father of four, working a full-time research job at Kodak, teaching 4 weekly bible studies and serving as an elder and on a church ministry team I had a season of feeling burned out.    Do you feel too busy to appreciate Him?  I learned that BUSY can be an acronym for Being Under Satan’s Yoke.  What I needed was an attitude change.  What I needed was to discover prayer.

Prayer is more than telling God about my day (important), more than confessing to God my brokenness and asking God for help (also important), more than interceding asking God to bless the people in my life (super important).  Prayer is the time when I reconnect to God and express my love, gratitude and longing for Him even as I seek his strength, love, wisdom and compassion to live life selflessly like Jesus did.  In prayer I receive rest for my soul; it is pure grace, a gift of God.

God’s people have always needed help to pray.  Here is a meditation and prayer that I ran across today from the Jewish Book of Legends (Sefer Haaggadah, pg 535 #262).

Jews have prayed this repeatedly through the ages.  It is a prayer, the Blessing for Rain:

“When do we begin to say the blessing for rain?

“When the bridegroom goes out to meet his bride.”[1] 

What blessing should one say?

Rabbi Judah [Yehuda] taught:

“We give thanks unto You for every drop you caused to fall on us.”

Rabbi Johanan used to conclude the blessing thus [1]: 

“Were our mouths filled with song as the sea is with water,

And our tongue with ringing praise as the roaring waves.

Were our lips full of adoration as the wide expanse of heaven,

And our eyes sparkling like the sun or the moon.

Were our hands spread out in prayer as eagles’ wings in the sky,

And our feet as swift as the deer,

We should still be unable to thank You enough, O Lord our God.

Blessed be You, O God, to whom thanksgivings are due.“”[2]

These words gave me pause.  When is the last time I gave thanks for the simple blessing of rain?  It is amazing to realize how God showers me with his love, and I don’t even recognize it. 

I live in Rochester NY.  This morning I was out clearing the fresh new snow away from my driveway.  Now I look outside with new eyes.  Join me in giving thanks for the simple provision God provides.  What I learned today is that prayer perhaps best starts with a heart of adoration and gratitude for the simple things.  From this mindset I think a busy life is transformed to an abundant life.

[1] the footnote suggests that this means “as soon as you see the first drop”

[2] Berakhot 59b; for an English translation see for example the William Davidson Talmud.

[3] The first six lines of the Blessing for Rain are in common with the Nishmat kol chai, a prayer said in the Shabbat morning service by Jews.  The Blessing for Rain differs from the Nishmat in the last two lines which in the Nishmat are: “Never could we fully state our gratitude for one ten-thousandth of the lasting love that is Your precious blessing, dearest God, granted to our ancestors and to us.” Truly I love this sentiment too.

One thought on “Blessings for Rain: Learning to Pray from Jewish Book of Legends

  1. I really enjoyed this David. I have come across some old Jewish writings that are very inspiring. It’s always a good think to thank God for everything and live in appreciation of all He has given us, even those things we take for granted like rain and air.

    Like

Leave a comment