Spiritual Formation – A Worthy Goal for 2020

Probably most of us would agree that we would like to grow spiritually this year.  When left as a vague notion, it even sounds like a reasonable New Year’s resolution:  I would like to invest in my spiritual formation. 

But what really is spiritual formation? 

I have just started reading and discussing Mansions of the Heart by Thomas Ashbrook and Ted Wueste with a small group of friends on Monday nights.  So far I have found some surprisingly satisfying answers to this question in Chapter 2 “Common myths that lead down dead end roads” which I will summarize below. 

First what spiritual formation is not: 

  1. The pursuit of holiness
  2. The pursuit of usefulness to God through service
  3. The pursuit of personal wholeness
  4. The pursuit of enlightened understanding

At times I have been tempted to treat each of these pursuits as the goal of my faith.  After all, they sound like great things to have!  I agree with the authors’ conclusion that when we make them goals of our spiritual life we find that they are dead ends.  Holiness, service, wholeness and understanding are healthy biproducts of true spiritual formation, but as stand-alone goals, they just lead to frustration. 

Upon honest reflection I acknowledge that I am not remotely holy, and certainly not compared to Jesus.  After 25 years he has cleaned up my F-bombs, blatant lies and total self-absorption.  However deeper identity issues linger.  For example, I easily slide back into prideful attitudes, seeking affirmation through accomplishment, holding on to hurts and resenting folks who excel. 

I have tried the service route too.  I have been neighborhood association president, soccer coach (5 years), small group leader (at one point of 5 small groups in one week!), church Elder, Kodak employee, and youth leader.  Last year I took a Sabbath year.  I needed to rest from constantly trying to please God through my ministry efforts.  I have learned all sorts of great lessons from those years, but I concur that service as an end is not satisfying to the soul.  There is endless need. 

Personal enlightened understanding is my most recent dead end.  I journaled every day for two years.  I prayed for spiritual gifts and sought personal healing.  I joined the prayer ministry and prayed for others (for 12 years).  I have been learning both Hebrew and Greek and have now read through the gospels and the Torah in their original languages.  I have studied sermons from pastors throughout the ages and have been pursuing my own personally designed homeschool course of seminary training.  I have taken online classes on Revelation and Hebrews, on Preaching and the Old Testament.  I thought I wanted to be a pastor.  But knowing more stuff (even great stuff) doesn’t motivate you to love difficult people or handle with grace unpleasant situations (like endless church meetings, church discipline or deaths). 

What is the real goal?  

A loving relationship with God. 

Could it be that simple? 

Let me quote the authors:  “The goal of spiritual formation is a loving intimacy with God.” 

“Loving intimacy with God in Christ has profoundly transforming effects on every aspect of our lives.”  Jesus is the vine, we are the branches (John 15).  The context is abiding together in a love relationship where he is the source of power in our lives.  It is not about us doing stuff for him.  “Living fully in God’s love for us is the goal, not our perfect love for Him.”

But what about following Jesus, making disciples, serving the poor, and doing good.  Isn’t that where the rubber meets the road?  Didn’t James say that faith without works is dead?

“Our ability to follow and serve Jesus is dependent upon the depth of our relationship with Him.” “Evangelism is simply the outpouring of God’s love through us to others who also need to know His love.” “An authentic love relationship with God will always result in love for neighbor.”  “A love relationship with God not only does not leave out evangelism and good works, but it is ultimately what causes them.” 

“A relationship of love with God in Christ is the best biblically, theologically, and historically based goal for spiritual growth…”

How does that happen?

Good question.  I will let you know what new things I find.  But let’s not get ahead of ourselves.  As a new start for a new year, it is great to have a worthy goal for 2020:

I have decided to love Jesus more, and let him love me.

Leave a comment